Cavaliers News · 2018-19 MAC Athlete Winner from Clackamas High School

Congratulations to Olivia Iparraguirre our MAC Athlete recipient for 2018-19.  The scholarship is awarded to a sophomore every year.  Olivia participated in Soccer as a freshman and ran cross country and did track and field.  As a sophomore, she did Cross country and will be doing track and field.  In 2017–she was on the Honorable Mention Cross Country team, a member of the Mt. Hood Cross Country 1st place team and qualified for the state cross country meet.  She was athlete of the Week in 2018 and won Newcomer of the Year Award for Track in 2018.  This school year, she helped lead our team to a 2nd place at the Mt. Hood Conference meet, she qualified for state and was 1st Team All-Conference.  She was also selected Most Valuable Player for the Cross Country team.  She has high hopes for the 2019 track season.  Congratulations to Olivia.  Information on the MAC Athlete program is below.  Clackamas High School other nominees were: Willaim Curran, Jackson Dorn, Kylie Hegar, Christin Kwon, and Jake Spitulski.

This scholarship program has been around since 1971 with 14 schools from the Portland Interscholastic League.  In 2004, a generous gift by James F. Miller started the scholarship endowment. The Millers’ support to education and the arts in Oregon demonstrates leadership and commitment to their community. Their gift to the foundation celebrates the energy and accomplishments of high school student-athletes.

Students are selected by each high school’s selection committee near the end of their sophomore year based on their athletic and academic accomplishments. This program includes 29 high schools – defined as the 5A and 6A Oregon high schools within 12 miles of the Multnomah Athletic Club. Eligible schools are listed to the right.

Our winner will receive:

  • A two-year courtesy MAC membership through-out his or her high school tenure and the opportunity to transfer to active dues-paying membership upon completion of high school.
  • $1,500 one-time award toward his/her college education within six years of high school graduation funded by the Foundation.